Künstlersekretariat - Astrid Schoerke

Duo Gustav and Paul Rivinius

Duo Gustav and Paul Rivinius

The cellist Gustav Rivinius, awarded the first prize of the International Tschaikowsky Competition in 1990 as the only German musician until recently, is a passionate chamber musician and has always played in ensembles. In the 2012/13 and 2013/14 seasons, he is performing with his brother, the pianist Paul Rivinius. Many successful recordings for broadcasts, amongst other all Beethoven sonatas, prove their excellent work together.

Below please find three programme proposals of the duo:

Cello music between 1910 and 1919

The focus is on one of the most interesting and exciting changes of music history. The programme presents an interesting selection of impressionistic pieces, modern music with folkloristic elements and revolutionary pieces.

Kodaly: Sonata op. 4 (1910)
Janácek: Pohádka (Fairy tail) (1910)
Webern: Three little pieces op. 11 (1914)
Pijper: Sonata (1919)
Debussy: Sonata (1915)
Bridge: Sonata (1917)

2013: 100th anniversaries of Benjamin Britten and Witold Lutoslawski

Britten: Suite No. 3 op. 87 for cello solo
Lutoslawski: Grave for cello and piano
Bridge: Sonata for cello and piano (1917)
Lutoslawski: Sacher-Variations for cello solo
Britten: Sonate C-Dur op. 65

2014: 150th anniversary of Richard Strauss

Strauss: Romanza F major
Mendelssohn: Sonata No. 2 D major op. 17
Mendelssohn: Variations concertantes op. 58

nach oben scrollen